Click the "Quick Escape Button" or the Escape key on your keyboard to leave this page quickly.

Sexual Assault

If you have been sexually assaulted, we encourage you to consider the following:

  1. If you are in immediate danger, call 911.
  2. Go someplace safe.
  3. Tell a person who will support you and/or call The Aurora Center at 612-626-9111.
  4. Seek medical help (if needed) at a clinic or an emergency department.
  5. Consider whether you’d like to make a police report or a report to the university.

If you plan to report to the police now or in the future, consider these things to DO:

  1. Safety: Prioritize your own safety and well being.
  2. Evidence: Keep the clothing you were wearing (including undergarments) at the time of the assault, and any bedding that might contain evidence in a paper (not plastic) bag. Bring this to the hospital/police if you decide to go.
    1. If you have to urinate, collect it in a clean vessel to bring with you to the ER if you choose to get an exam.
    2. Save any texts, e-mails, videos, messages, or other things you have regarding the assault for evidence.
  3. Advocate: Call The Aurora Center to speak with an advocate at 612-626-9111. An advocate can meet you at the hospital to give you support and answer any questions you may have.
  4. Medical: Go to an emergency room where you can receive a free sexual assault forensic exam (performed by specially-trained sexual assault nurse examiner). Such an exam can be performed up to 168 hours (7 days) after an assault. You do not have to file a police report at the time of your exam.
  5. Support Group: Consider joining a support group for survivors of sexual assault. You can contact The Aurora Center for more information on our support group for students.

If you plan to report, DON'T:

  1. Clean, rearrange or alter the scene of the crime.
  2. Cover or treat any injuries.
  3. Take a shower or clean yourself if you plan to go for a hospital exam.
  4. Assume you are alone in this. This was not your fault. We are here for you.


University of Minnesota Policy (Academic/Administrative Policy 2.3.6)

Sexual Assault:

Actual, attempted or threatened sexual contact with another person without that person's consent. Sexual assault often is a criminal act that can be prosecuted under Minnesota state law, as well as under the Student Conduct Code and employee discipline procedures.



Affirmative consent is defined as “informed, freely and affirmatively communicated willingness to participate in sexual activity that is expressed by clear and unambiguous words or actions.”

Clear and unambiguous words or actions are those that are freely and actively given by informed individuals that a reasonable person in the circumstances would believe communicate a willingness to participate in a mutually agreed upon sexual activity.

The following factors will be considered when determining consent:

  • It is the responsibility of each person who wishes to engage in the sexual activity to obtain consent.
  • A lack of protest, the absence of resistance and silence do not indicate consent.
  • The existence of a present or past dating or romantic relationship does not imply consent to future sexual activity.
  • Consent must be present throughout the sexual activity and may be initially given, but withdrawn at any time.
  • When consent is withdrawn all sexual activity must stop.Likewise, where there is confusion about the state of consent, sexual activity must stop until both parties consent again.
  • Consent to one form of sexual activity does not imply consent to other forms of sexual activity.

Consent is not obtained where:

  • There is physical force, threats, intimidation or coercion.
  • There is incapacitation due to the influence of drugs or alcohol.
  • There is the inability to communicate because of a physical or mental condition
  • An individual is asleep, unconscious or involuntarily physically restrained.
  • An individual is unable to understand the nature or extent of the sexual situation because of mental or physical incapacitation or impairment.
  • One party is not of legal age to give consent pursuant to Minnesota state law.